The US has banned Chinese airlines from June 16

Washington Airlines has postponed all flights to China after Beijing failed to allow US carriers to resume services to China, US Transportation said.

The Trump administration on Wednesday banned Chinese airlines from traveling between the two countries for business and travel.

Four Chinese airlines, which fly to the US from June 16, will be suspended for passenger flights, according to the US Department of Transportation.

The decision to reopen United Airlines and Delta Air Lines this week was halted earlier this year in response to the coronavirus epidemic in China's Wuhan Province.

The Ministry of Transportation said China is violating the agreement between the two countries covering each other's flights.

Trump is set to enforce the order on June 16

"This division will engage with our Chinese counterparts to ensure that the U.S. and Chinese carriers fully exercise their bilateral rights," the agency said in a statement.

"At this point, we allow the Chinese carrier to operate the same number of scheduled passenger flights as the Chinese government allows us."

The department said President Donald Trump could implement these decrees by June 16.

This order applies to Air China, China Eastern Airlines Corp, China Southern Airlines Co-end and Hainan Airlines Holding Company.

The Chinese embassy in Washington did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Post a Comment